Accountability body

The accountability body comprises 14 members and represents the employers, the members and the pension beneficiaries. The Board appoints the members of the accountability body:

  • 2 employer representatives are appointed on the recommendation of Shell Petroleum B.V. 
  • 3 representatives of the employees are appointed following elections among the employees. The Shell Nederland Central Staff Council is entitled to recommend preferred candidates.
  • 9 representatives of the pension beneficiaries are appointed following elections among the members. VOEKS is entitled to recommend preferred candidates.

The accountability body gives a retrospective annual opinion (regarding the previous calendar year) on the actions of the Board, the policy implemented by the Board, as well as on policy decisions for the future. The accountability body also has specific consultation rights.

The accountability body’s authorities regarding implementing tasks is based on the Pensions Act and on the pension fund statutes.


Composition of the accountability body
On behalf of employers On behalf of employees On behalf of pension beneficiaries
Sophie van Sadelhoff Jan Lunenborg Briene Zijlmans, voorzitter
Rutger Jansen Hans Peter van Arkel Henk Burks
  Jan Taalman Gerard Hertogh
    Edo Neefjes
    Godelieve Alkemade
    Roland Wanders
    Jenneke Boerman
    Delia Wind
    Frans Lacon